Coloring Outside of the Lines Can be a Good Thing.

I forgot how nice it is to fit into clothes and feel confident again. I must say, I’m really digging it! I have a couple of new recipes to share, but I’ll save those for a post later in the week.

Today I want to talk about my other great loves…art (and Art History, for that matter. It was my Minor in College), crafting and design. Anyone who knows me can attest to the fact that my apartment is CRAMMED to the rafters with art supplies- paints (several different kinds), colored pencils, sketch books, markers (several different kinds), jewelry and metalsmithing supplies (more beads than I care to admit), resin, paper crafting supplies, oil crayons, wires, decorative embellishments, fabrics, sewing machine, sewing supplies, canvases, a dremel (drill thing), saw blades, etc. It’s making me claustrophobic just thinking about it. BUT. There’s a but. For the past couple of months I have slowly begun transforming my living space. I’M GOING TO HAVE A STUDIO! Yes, that was so exciting for me I just had to scream it!

I’ve drawn the plans out for the place and picked out the paint. I’ve started getting things like furniture and rugs. My problem, though? Too.Many.Ideas. I have a running list on my Macbook that’s 46 items long and a lot of things on there are decorative things- i.e. me getting waaaaay ahead of myself. This weekend I indulged in some of that “getting ahead of myself” stuff and purchased these amazing glasses. Don’t they look like they belong on the set of Mad Men?

These bad boys will go very nicely with my Pyrex Collection and certainly fuel my obsession with all vintage kitchenware. More to come on that and my pyrex hunting adventures in another post.

One of the most exciting parts of this whole interior design thing is that although I’ve lived in this apartment for 4 years, I never really made it my own. When you first move out, so much of how you decorate and what you have is dictated by what other people give you and the fact that you usually don’t make all that much money when you’re working at your first job. My apartment has very much been a mixture of my style dominated by hand me downs. No more. my space is my own and now I’m putting my stamp on it.  Time for this to be an adult apartment.

This is VERY MUCH a DIY makeover. Many people I know hate this sort of thing, but me? I LOVE figuring out and doing things for myself. Not only does it make it more “MINE,” it’s incredibly satisfying. I’ve discovered a few things: I LOVE antique pieces either refurbished or refinished for a more modern look; I love vintage; I hate having things that everyone else has; I have to trust my design instincts; and lastly, I would probably be arrested if I ever visited the set of Mad Men for trying to steal items from the set.

Above all, I’ve discovered that design doesn’t have to be about matching or follow a set of rules. I’m pretty much winging it and loving every minute. It’s slowly becoming a space that is ENTIRELY reflective of me and what I love.

Stay tuned for the “After” on this piece below, some wonderful Brimfield Fair finds, and my latest project, in which my mom and I temporarily became lumberjacks.

Oh, yes. Of course I bought more beads this weekend at a special show. Bad idea, Jenny. Bad idea. I’m like a cat lady, only with beads. Next time I’ll show you what I did with these:

Anyone else a DIY’er? Do you ever get a little too far ahead of yourself? If you have any cool projects you’ve done recently, please feel free to share! 🙂

About annenglish

I often think my the right side of my brain dominates- I live to create things. Color is one of the things that brings me great joy and in everything that I do, it is a theme that takes on great aesthetic importance. I am a jewelry designer, metal artist and writer (wanna-be.) During the day I work in an office, and while I like it, I spend my days dreaming about the next thing I want to make. As a result, I am the post-it queen- design ideas are always strewn about my desk, waiting for me to gather them up and take them home at the end of the day. Oh, yeah. I'm also a tremendous slob, which is unfortunate because I love to cook and washing dirty dishes is my least favorite chore to tackle. I'm a healthy food enthusiast and amateur chef. Cooking is a tremendous creative outlet for me- experimentation is my hallmark...whether it's surprising color combinations or flavor combinations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

