Jenny, Party of One.

I really like being single. I’ve been on a few dates here and there and had a nice time, but for right now, I’m content to be by myself. I have lots of things I want to do and need to do and I think that not being attached to someone is fantastic- I answer to me and me only.

I get to indulge in stuff like sleeping diagonally in bed (I don’t know why.), drinking from the faucet (Again, I don’t know.), watching the stupidest movies on the planet:

Not worrying that wearing my Spanx will be a passion killer:

(I could just hear Bridget Jones in my head whenever I slipped these things on. Ok, jimmied them on with a crowbar and a jar of Crisco. Kidding.).

Is it lonely sometimes? Of course it is. Sometimes (usually after watching any movie with Ryan Reynolds or reading a particularly crappy piece of chick lit) I do wish I was part of a couple again, but for the most part, I see this time as a way to figure out what I want and to go for it. There is one thing that I struggle with a little, which came as somewhat of a surprise, and that is: the art of cooking for one.

It’s really hard for me to cook for myself. I’m Italian. I like cooking for other people- it makes me happy to feed others. Let’s be honest, I want to cook giant vats of marinara that I can backstroke in (This is strictly hypothetical. Don’t be afraid to come to my dinner parties), platters of eggplant parm the size of ice skating rinks, and incredible crispy loaves of garlic bread that would’ve made Gandhi break his hunger strike. It’s in my blood. My family is like the one in “My Big Fat Greek Wedding,” except my grandmother knows how to pronounce “bundt cake,” would never roast a pig on her front lawn, and my aunts have excellent fashion sense. I digress. My point? I’m genetically predisposed to cooking stupidly large amounts of food and feeding anyone that walks in my door(that’s my story and i’m sticking to it.).

In case it’s not clear to you after reading that last paragraph, I have a problem. I have yet to learn how to gauge how much food to make for me, with a reasonable amount of leftovers. This usually means that I have trouble gauging how much I should eat and/or I end up feeling like my teeth are swimming in soup, having had it for lunch four days in a row. Yes, I could freeze it, but my freezer is chock full. This includes the ill advised twenty pound bag of frozen spinach from Costco I am still trying in vain to make a dent in and half the gladware in the state of Massachusetts holding OTHER leftovers. Did I mention that my freezer isn’t even full size? The other day I opened the door and was nearly blinded by a flying container of pasta sauce. My leftovers are literally coming back to haunt me at this point.

Leftovers weren’t such a problem when I was with my ex. I’d be lucky if there WERE any leftovers. The man could EAT! And I could COOK. It was a symbiotic thing. It was portion control at its finest. Now, I probably still make the same amount, and I keep wondering why it’s so hard to cook smaller portions! It’s as though my brain rejects the notion. So, I’ve decided to make a concentrated effort to cook reasonable portions and buy reasonable amounts of food. I haven’t made a plan yet, but I will in the next couple of days and i’ll share it. I’m hoping to at least get a handle on it and then pass my tips along. So far I’ve determined that I should probably do the following:

  • Meal planning that doesn’t take place on the T on the way home
  • Inventory the freezer
  • Measure grains and pasta, since that seems to be where I often have a heavy hand
  • For portion control, put leftovers in containers prior to serving and eating my dinner portion
  • Start having more dinner parties so that I can cook copious amounts of food guilt-free

On a closing note, I’d just like to say, Stonyfield Farms, that I’d really really appreciate it if you’d sell your fantastic organic milk in smaller cartons. I find it hard sometimes to drink that much before it goes bad and I feel guilty wasting it!

I’m swimming tonight and then i’m off to a birthday party (My eats for tonight will be provided there, so no idea what’s on the menu!). Lucky for them, I didn’t have time to make a dish. It would’ve been some sort of spinach thing. Muahahahaha! Have a great night, everyone!

About annenglish

I often think my the right side of my brain dominates- I live to create things. Color is one of the things that brings me great joy and in everything that I do, it is a theme that takes on great aesthetic importance. I am a jewelry designer, metal artist and writer (wanna-be.) During the day I work in an office, and while I like it, I spend my days dreaming about the next thing I want to make. As a result, I am the post-it queen- design ideas are always strewn about my desk, waiting for me to gather them up and take them home at the end of the day. Oh, yeah. I'm also a tremendous slob, which is unfortunate because I love to cook and washing dirty dishes is my least favorite chore to tackle. I'm a healthy food enthusiast and amateur chef. Cooking is a tremendous creative outlet for me- experimentation is my hallmark...whether it's surprising color combinations or flavor combinations.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Jenny, Party of One.

  1. Rita says:

    I’ll help you make a dent in that inventory next month!!

  2. Kat says:

    I really hope that by “drinking from the faucet” you mean “putting your head under the tap,” because if reality doesn’t match up to the picture I have in my head, I shall be sorely disappointed.

    I know it sucks to make a big Italian-family-sized vat of something and be forced to eat the leftovers for a week, but I’ve seen some people make dishes of that volume, portion them out in little tupperware or gladware containers, and then pull them from the fridge or freezer as necessary (as you already mentioned). I hope to have the presence of mind to try that someday.

Leave a Reply

