Today’s Post is brought to you by the letter “C”

C is for Cheese- as in, NO, Jenny, it is NOT acceptable for you to take bites out of the frigging parmesano reggiano cheese before you grate it, for the love of all that is holy!!!! Also, while you’re at it, be careful with the whole “referring to yourself in third person” thing.  It can go downhill very quickly.  At any rate, please note that my cheese problems are so severe that I have created a tag, aptly titled “cheese addiction.”  Jessica knows what I’m going through.

C is for Class, which I had tonight and when I got home late, I needed a quick dinner.  The answer was simple- Red Bean Croquettes.  I mashed up some leftover red kidney beans, added minced garlic, lemon juice, minced onion, parmesan cheese, salt pepper, rolled it into balls, coated it in cornmeal that I had spiced up with salt, parsley, and a little cayenne.  I’d never done this before, but it was really delicious!

I dipped it in plain greek yogurt and ate some cucumber slices, which I wolfed down before I remembered to take this picture. Oops.

I’m running on about 4 hours of sleep right now, so this will be short, but I figured I might as well live up my heading and show you guys why I claim that this blog is also about creativity and design.  C is for Cred (as in Street Cred- which hopefully, i’m about to lay down.  Am I using this terminology correctly?  Geez…I am so old and freakin’ out of touch) and of course, C is for Crafty and Creative.  Here are some of the projects I’ve been working on lately.

Remember this Caboodles case given to me LAST YEAR by a dear friend?  It’s a fantastic organizer, but I needed something a little less later 20th century and a little more ME.

BEFORE...ironically, in need of a makeover!

After: The last thing I have left to do is cover the handle by wrapping ribbon around it or else painting it.

Another top view.

A little Warhol action going on here.

The purple sheen that you see is micah powder that I applied using my fingers- I’m like a little kid playing in the dirt with this stuff- messy projects don’t phase me.  I’m naturally a slob, anyway.  I have to really consciously make an effort to stay organized and make sure that I keep my apartment in some semblance of order.  Anyway, this project still has a little ways to go. I’d really like to find some way to change the look of the metal, but as long as I do the handle, and put a finish on it, i’ll be a bit more pleased.  I may file the metal so that it is distressed and a little more dull.  We shall see.  This will go on my vanity once my room is redone.  I plan to have a very sophisticated color scheme, decor and furniture, so this will add a touch of whimsy and give it an edge!

Another project i’m working on for my room is the current bane of my freakin’ existence.  This thing makes me want to, on an average of say, 99869676 times a day, burn it out of frustration, but let’s face it- that would be a waste of hours and hours of painstakingly hooking pieces of yarn (that i also had to pre-cut) onto this godforsaken grid.  I give you the results of my slave labor.  I’m a slave to this damn grid. I can’t stand to leave things unfinished, so this thing has to get done one way or another if it kills me!

Yes, I still have ALL THAT FREAKING GRID THING TO FILL IN!

I’ve also been working on a few jewelry pieces.  I’ve been really into making my own beads later, experimenting with different techniques.  This bracelet was made on a whim…i made all the discs with Polymer by handmixing, coloring with special dye, adding silver foil, handpainting gold leafing, sanding and finishing them.  I wire wrapped the beads that make up the focal point of the bracelet and strung it on stretchy cord.

This next thing I am working on is still in the very early developmental and experimental stages, but I had to share because I’m so freakin’ excited about it!  I really wanted to do something yoga themed and i’ve been trying to design something really small and subtle that I can wear everyday and not worry about getting in the way if I forget to take it off and i’m in the middle of a yoga class.  I finally came up with the idea of really small pendants and I set to work on the design- These are polymer clay made to look like stone through various techniques, including hand carving.  They are very very small.  This is just the first design possibility.  I will experiment with several color schemes, effects, etc.  I really love the small canvas and the idea that I can convey and idea or a visual treat in such a way (yeah, i’m dorky.  Wanna make something of it?!).

Attempt # 1...eh.

Attempt # 2...better...

Attempt # 3... i'm on my way!

Here are a few more pieces I’ve thrown together since my creativity sparked again:

Antique Bronze Wire wrapped necklace with semi-precious stones, pearls, vintage beads, lampworked glass beads, etc.

Wrap Bracelet

Pendant wire wrapped with sterling for a long sterling chain necklace

Random beads I made using basic polymer clay cane making techniques- these are a sample for a class i'm teaching. The designs are NOT painted- it's all done with canes.

I think that’s about all I can manage for now and I don’t want to bore you. Read: I don’t have the patience to upload all of this stuff with such a slow internet connection!  I have more stuff and i’m starting to get back into metalsmithing, hammering silver, silver clay, etc.  It’s really incredibly invigorating to rediscover my love for all things design and crafty.  I think it also sharpens my culinary creativity, as well!

I’m off to get some sleep because at this point, I look like a zombie- minus the blood dripping from my mouth, missing limbs and general gore, which, for a klutz like me, is a real victory.

About annenglish

I often think my the right side of my brain dominates- I live to create things. Color is one of the things that brings me great joy and in everything that I do, it is a theme that takes on great aesthetic importance. I am a jewelry designer, metal artist and writer (wanna-be.) During the day I work in an office, and while I like it, I spend my days dreaming about the next thing I want to make. As a result, I am the post-it queen- design ideas are always strewn about my desk, waiting for me to gather them up and take them home at the end of the day. Oh, yeah. I'm also a tremendous slob, which is unfortunate because I love to cook and washing dirty dishes is my least favorite chore to tackle. I'm a healthy food enthusiast and amateur chef. Cooking is a tremendous creative outlet for me- experimentation is my hallmark...whether it's surprising color combinations or flavor combinations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Today’s Post is brought to you by the letter “C”

  1. LOVE. All of it. I can’t wait for us to get together sometime soon and bead and craft to our hearts content!

  2. Wow! You really are so creative!

    I would love to be able to make some jewelry! I have a friend that does it… it looks so fun!

  3. I’m so happy to see you’ve got your creative bug back!!! I love love love that ring… care to make me one instead of say, a pan of brownies? 🙂

  4. Ange R. says:

    Must get together and do crafty things!!! (besides catch up)
    🙂

  5. Kat says:

    1) you have pretty hands
    2) it’s insane to actually see this stuff you’ve been talking about – that rug is SOOOOO tedious! But crazy me, I’d love something like that to work on here and there.
    3) I love all your pieces, but especially that pendant 😀

  6. ummm love all the jewels! might need you to teach me some more since my class was only 2 sessions! 🙂 [chels]

  7. Pingback: Christmas decorations already? « Color Hungry

Leave a Reply

