Damn You, Tom Colicchio!

I’d like to talk about something today that I wish I could blame squarely on Tom Colicchio and his evil panel of judges on Top Chef. I can see them clearly in my mind berating a contestant for bland food and not tasting before serving such slop to their discriminating palates. That British guy is particularly nasty.

I call it the downfall of the cooking nosh-er. You know what i’m talking about- bit for the dinner, bite for you. Of course, you reason with yourself, “I MUST taste before serving to my guests/unsuspecting husbands and children. Don’t wanna poison anyone!” But what about when you’re cooking for one (or someone with a severe headcold)? That excuse just dissolves into thin air. I suppose you need to adjust the recipe as it cooks, but is it really necessary to take “normal” sized bites?

I suffer from this terrible affliction. I’ll just admit it now because i’ve never been one to hold my peace (if I was male, that’d take on a WHOLE other meaning, I suppose). I can’t even guess at how many extra calories i’m consuming doing this! The other day I found myself cutting off chunks of sourdough and dipping them in a lentil mixture as I waited for it to cook. “I need a snack to tide me over!” I reasoned. I don’t seem able to just take a little taste, either. Apparently, I must DROWN my tastebuds in order to adequately gauge the flavor- how sophisticated.

And then there’s the nights I have cheese in my dinner. The CARNAGE! The other night I found myself wondering how it was that I only used a small bit of a brand new wedge of parmesano reggiano in my eggplant caponata the other night, but there’s only a little left? Oh, yes. That’s probably due to the fact that I cut off slices- yes, SLICES of parmesan cheese- to dip in the caponata as it was cooking. The horror! The shame!

I’m wondering how many other people have this issue. Am I alone in my suffering/shame? How do you curb this? This is something that I am completely aware of now and I need to make a conscious effort to knock it the hell off. Consider this my resignation from the island of the cooking nosh-er. Well…wait. Do I get to give my two weeks notice? You see, I’ve got a really tasty dinner on tap for tonight.

About annenglish

I often think my the right side of my brain dominates- I live to create things. Color is one of the things that brings me great joy and in everything that I do, it is a theme that takes on great aesthetic importance. I am a jewelry designer, metal artist and writer (wanna-be.) During the day I work in an office, and while I like it, I spend my days dreaming about the next thing I want to make. As a result, I am the post-it queen- design ideas are always strewn about my desk, waiting for me to gather them up and take them home at the end of the day. Oh, yeah. I'm also a tremendous slob, which is unfortunate because I love to cook and washing dirty dishes is my least favorite chore to tackle. I'm a healthy food enthusiast and amateur chef. Cooking is a tremendous creative outlet for me- experimentation is my hallmark...whether it's surprising color combinations or flavor combinations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Damn You, Tom Colicchio!

  1. I have been known to nosh while I cook occasionally 🙂 I totally eat cookie dough!

  2. Meghan says:

    I am pretty much never hungry by the time dinner rolls around. I do a lot of tasting!

  3. Abby says:

    Don’t feel too bad, I do the same!! BUt I don’t really cook to much, so it doesn’t happen that often. I’m sure if I cooked more than it would be baaaad news bears.

  4. Simply Life says:

    ha, i do this too and then wonder why I’m never that hungry when the meal is actually ready! 🙂

  5. HA! I’ve had THE SAME thing happen… usually with peanut butter i buy for sauces. The 2 Tbsp i used for the recipe turns into a LOT more by the time dinner’s done!

  6. I totally do this… all. the. time. Drives me nuts because I still want my normal dinner but my stomach asks me not to stuff it… sad face. Anyway, one way I’ve “dealt” with it is by trying a piece then grabbing a mint or piece of gum. Usually stops the “carnage”– I know exactly why you use that word 🙂

  7. Hey!

    Thanks so much for commenting on my blog!

    I totally snack when I’m cooking! I have nooo self control when it comes to waiting for the actual meal!haha

    Have a great weekend,

    Lauren

Leave a Reply

