Everyone Wave to my Nana!

First of all, I want to say “Hi!” and send some love to my grandma. She asked me last night for the address to my blog, because she’d tried to find it on her own, but had no luck. I assume she has been here since I saw that someone had entered my exact blog address into Google to find me (It’s all about the Google with the Nana). So, keep it clean, people (I’m talking to YOU, Kasha).

Today’s going to be a bit of weird blogging day (but, Jenny, you say, everyday is a weird blogging day with you! Well, thanks.). Last night I got a little caught up in making jewelry and by the time I looked at the clock it was 12:00 a.m.! Of course, I had to finish up what I was working on because God only knows when I’ll have the patience to wire wrap that intensely again. I have about as much patience as a 3 year- old on a cross country road trip.

Anyway, I digress. Let’s take a look at my eats for the day, starting with lunch, since I…er…didn’t exactly eat breakfast.

Leftover hummus with tomatoes, a small hunk of feta, cucumbers and red onion. 3 mini pitas for dipping

Cherry tomatoes for more dipping...Do you have any idea how hard it is to scoop up hummus with a cherry tomato??

I had just a dash of this cranberry barley and broccoli salad. There was a lot of red onion, but as far as healthier options at the alternative salad bar go, this wasn't bad.

Dinner was a bit of an unexpected treat. I had no idea what I was going to do and I was exhausted after a long day, but on my way home, I came across a lovely surprise! I took a meandering route home, which must have been fate- there’s a new store in town and it’s called “Brookline Fine Wine and Gourmet.” Of course, like a good little foodie I had to go in and explore and I wasn’t disappointed! I knew it was going to be good when I stepped in and there was bread from Clear Flour Bakery! This is quite possibly one of the BEST bakeries in the city and there are tons of really upscale restaurants that use their bread.

The hardwood floors were recently done and look beautiful, too!

There was a small but really interesting and varied selection of cheeses (chocolate chevre, anyone?), crackers, tea, chocolates, pasta, olive oil, honey, and various other goods. There were some local and New England products and then there were the imported goods. They were mostly French, Italian and Spanish imports and while some things were a little pricier, it was still completely within reason.

What I REALLY want to talk about is the domestic, and international beer and wine selection- I didn’t have time to really look too hard, but I can’t wait to go back. They had what looked like a nice little craft beer section and a terrific wine selection. Too bad Meghan can’t shop with me- I don’t know where to start. If you’re in the Brookline area, definitely check them out!

I didn’t want to go too crazy, so I ended up with three items (Sadly, no wine. I was too overwhelmed and the pressure got to me.):

Small Clear flour bakery sourdough, truffle infused olive oil, and imported Brie

I can’t say I’ve ever had brie in a tin can before, but that’s what it was. It was really delicious. Truffle oil has become harder and harder for me to find and I absolutely LOVE it. Dinner was a mish mash:

Sourdough halves with brie and veggie burger, lentils and spinach sauteed in truffle olive oil- This burger was a little spicy, a very nice contrast with the smooth creaminess of the brie!

Of course I had to green it up with some salted edamame- delicious!

I treated myself to a couple of other things yesterday, too. Big spender! 😉

It was 20% off and I was curious. I'll let you know what I think. Seems pretty straightforward!

My new rain boots! I've felt like a duck splashing around in puddles on my way to work lately- and not on purpose! My shoes are taking a real beating and practically screaming for mercy, so I figured with the way February has been going and with April showers on the horizon, it was the right time to invest.

I promise I will post my latest projects. I was surprised that so many people have expressed interest, both on and off the blog. There are so many things to show you that I’ll probably do a post tonight dedicated to the “Design” part of the blog.

And now- the age old question: Do you eat the rind when you eat brie or do you just eat the creamy inside? I’m curious because I never eat the rind, but I know several people who do! Enlighten me, please.

About annenglish

I often think my the right side of my brain dominates- I live to create things. Color is one of the things that brings me great joy and in everything that I do, it is a theme that takes on great aesthetic importance. I am a jewelry designer, metal artist and writer (wanna-be.) During the day I work in an office, and while I like it, I spend my days dreaming about the next thing I want to make. As a result, I am the post-it queen- design ideas are always strewn about my desk, waiting for me to gather them up and take them home at the end of the day. Oh, yeah. I'm also a tremendous slob, which is unfortunate because I love to cook and washing dirty dishes is my least favorite chore to tackle. I'm a healthy food enthusiast and amateur chef. Cooking is a tremendous creative outlet for me- experimentation is my hallmark...whether it's surprising color combinations or flavor combinations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Everyone Wave to my Nana!

  1. I have no idea what to do with the rind either! Sometimes I scrape it off with a knife, other times I end up eating it because the brie is so melty. I need help here, too!

  2. When I ate brie, (I need to find a goats milk one) I ate the rind but not when I first started my love affair with cheese.

    Love the boots!

  3. I’ve always wanted to make jewelry! But like you… I have no patience!

    When I eat brie, I eat everything… not just the creamy middle. It’s all good to me 🙂

  4. Chocolate chevre? You have my address 🙂 I don’t eat the rind on brie, mostly because it grosses me out

  5. Abby says:

    Hi Nana!! That Veggie burger looks amazing!

  6. Heather says:

    i can’t bring myself to eat the rind! i just know that when i eat brie all i’m looking for is an amazingly soft and creamy cheese, so i just go for the middle 🙂

  7. Simply Life says:

    I don’t eat the rind because my husband takes it off right away! 🙂

  8. HI, Nana! 🙂

    Thank you so much for commenting on my blog last month. I’m glad I finally stopped by 🙂

    Love MP’s Food Rules. Things that seem so obvious but are sometimes hard in practice!

    Your boots are adorable. I’ve always wanted a “proper” pair of rainboots!

    I eat the rind, but I only eat really mild brie, so the rind isn’t that flavorful 😉

  9. I totally want that book!!! I saw it the other day in Chapters and wrote it down to add to my list of books I must read!!

    That store looks so cool … I love that you can buy bread, and wine 🙂 My kind of place!!

    I am actually not sure about the brie … I have tried the rind, and I don’t like it, so I usually work around it.

  10. Pingback: I’ll tell you what I want, what I really really want. « Color Hungry

Leave a Reply

