Got Yoga?

It’s been a while since I last posted, but after my dad’s anniversary I was in a bit of a funk and needed a break to sort of figure out where I was going next.  Do you ever feel like maybe you just need a little time to sort out what exactly you are doing?  I think I just needed to take stock of my life.  I think I just needed to realize that I have made SO much progress in recent months and I have a lot of exciting things going on:

  • Grad School is amazing!
  • Work is going very well- I have a wonderful boss that I love.
  • I get to teach what I love and work for a really supportive friend
  • For the first time since November, I am finally inspired to create again- the spark is back in a big way-  I am a jewelry making maniac!  I have about six projects going on at once!
  • I’m LOVING being a vegetarian- I am so aware of what I put in my body and how wonderful it feels to eat really healthy
  • I am finally realizing how important it is to take care of ME for a change
  • I am making time to do the things I want to do when I want to do them

And tonight, I think I found my new yoga home!  More on that later.  Let’s look at some delicious eats i’ve enjoyed lately:

Peanut Butter and Date flax seed pancakes with almond butter and real Vermont maple syrup(it's the best stuff in the world, bar none) for dipping 🙂

Deconstructed wontons- Garlicky Mushroom, spinach and lentil stuffing with pan fried wonton skins and avocado- DELICIOUS! And you know you love the plate. 😉

Absolutely amazing pizza on a garlic naan crust- Valentine's Day dinner! Oddly, I had a glass of sangria with it 🙂

My favorite Italian candy- Torrone! A lovely surprise from my mom 🙂

Eggplant Caponata with freshly grated parmesano reggiano and mini whole wheat pitas

Served with….

Pan roasted fennel topped with freshly grated parm and freshly chopped parsley and chive

Whole Wheat pasta bake with homemade marinara, mascarpone, roasted fennel and roasted pepper

I’ll be posting the recipes in the next couple of days, so if there’s anything in particular that looks good, let me know and i’ll try to get it up ASAP!

Now, for the exciting part of this post- and all you Boston peeps- LISTEN UP!  I woke up this morning not feeling so lovely- bad hair day, stomachache, migraine…and the mother of bad day barometers- nothingtowearitis.  Somehow, though, I knew that if I could just get my arse to yoga, i’d feel better- but where to go?  I was definitely jonesing for a little vinyasa, but power vinyasa at Baptiste is out as I can’t do heated yoga (POTS strikes again!), the yoga studio down the street was doing Kripalu Hatha (a little too slow for my tastes), so I hopped on Yelp Boston and started searching for a studio that offered what I was looking for- and THAT is how I found my new Yoga home- Life In Synergy .  The reviews were fantastic and there were several things that I liked:

1.)  Your first class is free and if you decide to buy a ten class pack after your first class, it’s 1oo dollars- a nice little discount from the regular rate of $120.

2.)  There are no memberships fees- it’s pay as you go and you are not obligated to join anything or even purchase a class pack(which, for me, was important because of above mentioned body issues).

3.)  The studio itself is absolutely beautiful.  Very welcoming, relaxing and best of all- eco-friendly!

4.)  Registering for classes is all online and super easy!  You sign up, get an account and everything is done through your account- no wasting paper.

When I arrived, JoEllen(super friendly and helpful!) presented me with my Life in Synergy card and gave me a quick rundown on where everything was.  The studios are absolutely beautiful- though there are only two, aptly named “Fire & Earth” and “Water & Wind.”  I was very nervous because for the most part I’ve been practicing at home, too nervous about how my body would perform in an intense yoga class. What I ended up doing tonight was more physically and mentally challenging than anything I have done to this point.  Yogaburn is hardcore.

Anyway, I digress.  I told JoEllen that I had hoped to talk to the teacher really quickly just to explain my situation.  She assured me that it was no problem and indeed, when I emerged from the locker room (which is really lovely, btw), JoEllen introduced me to Andree, the teacher, immediately.  I just let her know my circumstances and she was absolutely wonderful- very supportive and understanding.

So, what happened when I got in there?  I don’t really know how or why, but somehow, I didn’t care what I looked like.  I didn’t care that I was surrounded by lithe yoga bodies and that I wobbled a little when I got dizzy.  I was doing yoga, dammit!  It felt amazing!  With each asana I pushed myself a little harder.  I pushed myself to my limit and didn’t let anything stop me from moving forward, while at the same time, listening to my body-  I even did plow!

I’ve mentioned my issues with downward dog before- tonight, it clicked.  Up until this point,  I was so tense I wasn’t allowing myself to give into it, but tonight, I did it!  I went into a nearly perfect downward dog and I could feel it happen- could feel my shoulders and hips align.  Throughout, Andree was wonderful. She came over several times to see if I was ok, and a couple of times to help with alignment, even though it was a big class.  She paid attention to everyone and she was just so warm and wonderful.

I think, though, that the biggest change was in ME.  For once, I didn’t care what I looked like, didn’t care what anyone else thought.  I was just proud of myself for being able to do the things I did and proud that I was doing this for ME- doing something I love and not letting my discontent with my body/self-consciousness or fear of judgment keep me from doing it.  Most importantly, I think, though- For the first time I wasn’t using yoga as a way to block things out.  I was using it to cope in a different way.  I’m not sure how to explain it, but I wasn’t trying to NOT feel anything.

You know, it’s true what they say- No one’s looking.  No one cares.  The only thing that matters in a yoga class is what’s happening on your own mat.  And what was happening on mine tonight was DAMNED GOOD.

After class, Andree checked in with me and she was so encouraging.  She reaffirmed that I shouldn’t worry about what other people are doing and she told me that it’s not a competition.  She reminded me that  it’s personal and I just have to do the best I can for me.  I felt welcome.  Truly welcome.  I purchased the ten pack of classes and I can’t wait for my next class.  Punk Rock yoga, anyone?   Beats and Grooves Yoga (Vinyasa)?  There are so many to choose from- both fun and funky, then the more serious classes.  Not only that, but they have tons of other genres of classes, as well.  Hip-Hop, Booty Ballet, Zumba, etc.  I love the variety!  I highly recommend checking this place out.  What do you have to lose? The first class is free!  Don’t say I didn’t warn you, though- you’re going to want the ten-pack.

When I got home from yoga, I was RAVENOUS.  I swung by Trader Joe’s on the way home and picked up some spinach, grape tomatoes and brown rice tortillas, so I knew I wanted a quick, easy dinner incorporating these.  Here’s what I ended up with:

Garclicky spinach scrambled eggs with cherry tomatoes, brown rice tortilla, and avocado

Then I used this AWESOME spice I got from the Boston Vegetarian Food Festival:

To make this:

Just a little dipping sauce made with greek yogurt, lemon, Greek seasoning and a dash of salt- PERFECT!

I suppose you’re all caught up at this point.  I’m going to go do this:

This is fairly accurate. We're both pasty white. And FYI, that's my mom's ugly couch- not mine. I don't have a couch. *sigh*

Tomorrow is a long day- class until 9:30…I’m actually going to attempt to bring enough food for a day of eats.  Stop guffawing. I said i’d ATTEMPT it.  Have a little faith, will ya?

Next time I blog, I’ll show you what I did with these (and maybe live up to the fact that this blog is about healthy living, food and DESIGN):

That's right, kids- 1995 is back (So is 1985, if you count the golden girls DVD in the left hand corner). This is a Caboodles makeup case. One of my best friend's gave me this for Christmas a couple of years ago. It's completely nifty and it's going to be an awesome addition to my new vanity, but first, ironically enough, it needed a makeover...

This is pretty self-explanatory, no?

Ok, night for real this time.  I mean it!

About annenglish

I often think my the right side of my brain dominates- I live to create things. Color is one of the things that brings me great joy and in everything that I do, it is a theme that takes on great aesthetic importance. I am a jewelry designer, metal artist and writer (wanna-be.) During the day I work in an office, and while I like it, I spend my days dreaming about the next thing I want to make. As a result, I am the post-it queen- design ideas are always strewn about my desk, waiting for me to gather them up and take them home at the end of the day. Oh, yeah. I'm also a tremendous slob, which is unfortunate because I love to cook and washing dirty dishes is my least favorite chore to tackle. I'm a healthy food enthusiast and amateur chef. Cooking is a tremendous creative outlet for me- experimentation is my hallmark...whether it's surprising color combinations or flavor combinations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Got Yoga?

  1. I am so so so glad you enjoyed the yoga class and that you plan to go back. yay for yoga!

  2. I love that feeling of walking into a yoga class and not judging yourself. It’s so freeing! I’m so glad you found a place you love!

  3. abbynormally says:

    Glad that you’re loving being a veggie!!! I noticed that I’m more aware too! That good looks really yummy..

    I wish i did more yoga. There’s a ood studio not far from me, but I just don’t ever seem to have the time. I think i need to make the time!

  4. Simply Life says:

    YUM! all your food looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

