Camera Happy Girls Night!

How can your day NOT get off to a pretty sweet start when you eat this for breakfast?

Half a waffle (2 1/4 pieces, that is) topped with fresh raspberries, strawberries, banana and the granddaddy of toppings: REAL FRESH WHIPPED CREAM (I just had to shout it)

So, apparently, it’s official.  My grandmother is cooler than I am now- she called while I was over at my aunt’s house tonight and  she was skyping.  I mean,  you’d think you’d at least be hipper than your grandmother.  But then again, my grandma is no ordinary grandma.  She watches Sex and the City and sometimes spells dirty words in Scrabble.  Oh, and she taught me how to cook from the time I was just a little kid! She’s also my favorite person on the planet.  Maybe I should get on the skyping bandwagon?

I had a great time tonight.  My cousin, Sarah, is 13 and pretty much destined to be the next Martha, so I knew dinner would be pretty awesome.  All day i’d been wanting something with chives and this:

Oh, goat cheese, you make my heart sing!

I guess I must have been sending out some sort of telepathic signal because without any input from me, Sarah selected the following for our dinner.

Fingerling potatoes tossed with olive oil, salt, pepper and fresh chives!

Crispy pan fried polenta topped with goat cheese

Note the mushrooms sauteed with white wine for topping the polenta and the avocado slices!

And one more…altogether now:

It was all fingerfood and although really simple, absolutely delicious. There are so many potential ways to go with this: adding spinach to the mushrooms will probably be the next thing that I try.  I have a serious goat cheese problem.  I kept eating from the log as we were spreading it on the crispy polenta slices.  It’s dangerous stuff, indeed.  Probably wouldn’t last long at Colorhungry Casa!

And for dessert and a movie…Sarah’s idea of popcorn:

Yes, I am wearing Lululemon. These blueberries were amazing. They were the perfect balance of sweet and tangy.

We all paired our blueberries with a nice relaxing cup of this:

And showing on the gigantic TV?  An oldie, but a goodie (sorry for the blurry screenshot- I tried.):

Miss Congeniality- love that movie!

It was the perfect girls night and definitely one that I needed after a long and tiring week at work.  I’m really looking forward to the weekend.

This post will be short and sweet.  I have only one thing of any real substance to say.  And yes, this might seem harsh, but it needs to be said.  A huge pet peeve of mine and something i’ve noticed in abundance lately:  An article on the MSN homepage and one that i’ve seen in many incarnations…”Is your boyfriend/where you live/workplace/cat making you fat?” NO.  With a few exceptions (medical, for one) YOU are making you fat.  No one is putting the food in your mouth.  No one is physically restraining you from exercising or being active in some way.  This is one of the issues.  It is only when we take ownership that we can begin to fix the problem.  THAT’S what people successful in weight loss do.  Take responsibility for what they eat and how much they move.  I say this because I’ve been there.  It’s tough to do, but it’s necessary.  We are responsible for the choices we make.  We are the ones that live with the consequences.

About annenglish

I often think my the right side of my brain dominates- I live to create things. Color is one of the things that brings me great joy and in everything that I do, it is a theme that takes on great aesthetic importance. I am a jewelry designer, metal artist and writer (wanna-be.) During the day I work in an office, and while I like it, I spend my days dreaming about the next thing I want to make. As a result, I am the post-it queen- design ideas are always strewn about my desk, waiting for me to gather them up and take them home at the end of the day. Oh, yeah. I'm also a tremendous slob, which is unfortunate because I love to cook and washing dirty dishes is my least favorite chore to tackle. I'm a healthy food enthusiast and amateur chef. Cooking is a tremendous creative outlet for me- experimentation is my hallmark...whether it's surprising color combinations or flavor combinations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Camera Happy Girls Night!

  1. I get goat cheese like that, and I can find it with figs and honey already mixed in. It is AMAZING!!

  2. traveleatlove says:

    Yum yum yum I love finger food, goat cheese, fingerling potatoes and girls’ nights!

  3. kasha says:

    Try this, missy…. http://www.bialasfarms.com/display.php?ID=33

    See? I DO read your blog!

  4. debby says:

    Yummy yummy food. And amen on taking responsibility for ourselves!

  5. I just love cheese period. Love it! But goat cheese on a salad is the best. The dressing breaks it down a bit so it then goes all through the salad covering everything. I am in heaven with that! 😀 Goat cheese licked off fingers follows a close second.

Leave a Reply

