The Return of Happiness.

Nicely played, Mr. Safran Foer. Nicely played. Your proposal in “Eating Animals” that we start considering eating dogs certainly got my attention. You’ve got me. I’ll keep reading, if only out of horror and the thought that maybe what’s to come couldn’t be worse than that.  I’m sure you’d laugh at what’s probably a false sense of security.  Ok, ok. Yes, I appreciate that you’ve made me think. I will say no more until I have finished the book and can fully review it. If the first two chapters are any indication, I’m in for a helluva ride.

My first order of business today is to update you on my yoga challenge! This morning I overslept and while I didn’t have time to practice, I did read day four of the book. I was glad that I did because it was a terrific metaphor in which Gates talks about yoga as a canoe and states that we have to push ourselves from the shore (which I took to mean our comfort zones, what we’ve always done). He says that we have to relinquish control, learn to enjoy the scenery and essentially, just travel the river. You can see Christie’s take on Day four here, and what is so interesting is that while Christie felt that the passage was telling her to let go of old patterns and break old habits, I felt that the passage was actually showing me that the choices I’ve made lately, the path I’m traveling is the one that I need to be on- I AM breaking out of my old habits. I’m breaking old patterns- shattering them, actually, and it’s terrific.

My life is changing and moving in ways that I never imagined that it could. My boss actually said to me today-“ it’s good to be you. You have so many options.” She’s absolutely right and I am so very grateful for that. I can’t explain what it’s like to feel as though you are finally finding your way. After my world seemed to fall apart after the breakup, I wondered if I’d feel joy again. And here I am- still a little sad and mourning my loss, but at the same time- I’m happy again. I’m singing again. I’m dancing again. I’m laughing. I’m using my voice. I’m getting my old feistiness back. I feel like I’m coming home- to myself, if that makes sense. Now, if I could just freakin’ remember to eat breakfast!

I was able to get in a great yoga session before bed last night, using my new Yogitoes yoga towel again. I’ll be reviewing this soon- it’s a terrific product! I’m noticing so many improvements- I can touch my toes again, for one, and overall, I’m noticing serious improvements in flexibility. For instance, stepping my foot forward out of downward dog to transition into warrior, I can now step my foot all the way forward! It’s little things like that which are so rewarding. I’m also starting to pay attention to breathing, I’m really focusing on my body, I’m holding poses for longer and as Baron Baptiste would say, “playing with my edge.” It’s a wonderful and empowering feeling.

Switching gears a little bit, I wanted to say that I just became an aunt for the fourth time! CONGRATULATIONS Chris and Christine!!! Owen was born last week and my step-bro sent me a bunch of pics, which I quickly showed a few friends. Kat brought it to my attention that K.C. appears to be flipping off the camera in this particular picture, which makes it all the more hysterical.

These are my nephews. Aren’t they ridiculously adorable?! And yes, they are little devils. The one in the middle (Tyler) was recently zipped up in a rolling suitcase and put in a closet by the one holding the baby (Cody). Anyway, I’m sure you’ll see a ton more of these little guys. And thanks for letting me post these, Christine!  Here are my favorite pictures of Tyler, taken at Christmas in my step-aunt’s basement/play area:

I’ve gotten a great response to my video from yesterday- both on here and on Twitter, along with requests for a second installment, which is pretty awesome. I’m glad you guys enjoyed it. I must say that it was pretty funny when people told me that I sounded differently than they thought I would. I guess I have a high pitched voice? Anyway, the next time I have a good hair day (I’m due for another one any day now. Maybe.), I’ll do a second installment(And hope that this time, YouTube doesn’t freeze the most UNFLATTERING second of the entire video as the preview). If you have anything in particular you’d like to know, let me know and I’ll include it. And people- keep it clean. As much as I’d like to show you all the stuff I used to show the kids in the back of the bus in elementary school, I’m going to keep it tame. For the most part.

Here are a couple of questions for you: If you practice yoga, what is your favorite pose? As I build my knowledge on a daily basis, I am trying to do one new pose per day, so let me know what your favorite pose is and I’ll add it to my repertoire. AND/OR Pretty please talk to me about breakfast? How do you fit it in? Any suggestions for quick ones?  I have to get serious about eating breakfast.

About annenglish

I often think my the right side of my brain dominates- I live to create things. Color is one of the things that brings me great joy and in everything that I do, it is a theme that takes on great aesthetic importance. I am a jewelry designer, metal artist and writer (wanna-be.) During the day I work in an office, and while I like it, I spend my days dreaming about the next thing I want to make. As a result, I am the post-it queen- design ideas are always strewn about my desk, waiting for me to gather them up and take them home at the end of the day. Oh, yeah. I'm also a tremendous slob, which is unfortunate because I love to cook and washing dirty dishes is my least favorite chore to tackle. I'm a healthy food enthusiast and amateur chef. Cooking is a tremendous creative outlet for me- experimentation is my hallmark...whether it's surprising color combinations or flavor combinations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Return of Happiness.

  1. I have a lot of favorites 😀 but some of them are:

    half moon
    wheel
    headstand
    d. dog
    warrior II
    crescent lunge

    Well, it took me A LONG TIME for this but actually, I get up earlier so that I have time for a real breakfast. It sucked in the beginning but over time, I have found that even if lunch, dinner and snacks are hurried, I feel so much more grounded if I honor my body, mind and soul with these few moments each morning. In reality, for the breakfast thing alone, I get up 45 minutes earlier and that allows me plenty of time to pack lunch, make and eat breakfast and not feel rushed. I am also a big fan of breakfasts that can be made ahead (like overnight oats) and eaten whenever you are ready.

  2. SO does that make 4 nephews?!? WOW!!! And I love warrior and downward dog – in a love/hate way.

  3. Wow, congrats to your sister! 4 boys is impressive!

    I do Bikram yoga and my favorite poses are camel and bow pose. I LOVE the way my body feels doing this!

  4. abbynormally says:

    I’m so glad things are starting to get back to normal again! You do have so many options!! Life is such a fun journey!

  5. Breaking old patterns is so liberating… isn’t it? I tried yoga for a few weeks and felt like my tendons were going to snap in half the whole time. I did however enjoy Child’s Pose…or whatever that easy one (aka the only pose I could actually manage without pain) is called.

    ps: your little nephews are too cute!

Leave a Reply

