Today’s Keyword: Beatdown.

As in…I completely beat myself up. I am a KLUTZ. It just has to be capitalized in my case. If there is something to fall over, I will fall over it. If there is nothing to fall over, I will fall over it. I am notorious for tripping, falling, stumbling and general mayhem. I broke so many of my mom’s glasses that she bought plastic cups just for me. I’m not even kidding. And that was last year! Today was a real winner- I walked straight into an open dishwasher, denting my shin, and I also fell in the shower when I dared to step off of the no-slip mat for just a single second. *sigh* Figures. I actually don’t bruise very easily (which is good, as people would probably suspect I was the victim of some horrible accident at any given time), but today i’m sporting two shiny new bruises. Go, me!

Today was one of those Saturdays where, when I wasn’t inflicting damage on myself, I was content to just sit on the couch and not do all that much aside from playing tug-of-war with the dog(she kinda looks deranged when she’s doing this), a little design brainstorming and some light cleaning(those of you who know me can stop laughing now). I also posted a new review: Honeytree Organic Agave Nectar and a new recipe: Brie Mac and Cheese with Caramelized onions. You do NOT want to miss that one!

Just one more day left of vacation, which is pretty sad. I will, however, be looking forward to getting back into a more structured routine and I am really excited to go back to the gym and start really focusing on my yoga practice. That is probably what is exciting me most about this New Year- the conscious decision I have made to really focus on what I want and actually trying to get it rather than just sitting back and waiting for it to happen. I suppose good things do come to those who wait, but in my opinion, they probably also happen to people who take action!

I didn’t really eat anything terribly photogenic today and the salad I had for dinner was disappointing at best. It was missing a certain something- perhaps a little crunch. However, I DID make some peanut butter butterscotch brownies because my step-aunt and her family came over tonight. I discovered these puppies one night when I was too upset to sleep and I started baking. Imagine my surprise when these turned out to be some of the tastiest brownies I have ever eaten. And don’t take my word for it- others have agreed! The best part is that they are so ridiculously simple to make and clean-up is a cinch. I only used one pot, one measuring cup, a whisk, a spatula and a measuring teaspoon!

You can find the recipe for peanut butter butterscotch brownies: here.

I like my brownies gooey, but you can cook them longer if you'd like...These were just right for me!

So, two of my cousins came over- Katelyn and Paige- ages 14 and 12, respectively. They’re a spririted duo. We watched movies and had a good time. I let Paige do my makeup and much to everyone’s surprise, I didn’t come out of the “cosmetology chair” looking like Tammy Faye Bakker, Dolly Parton (at least, not from the neck up), or Marilyn Manson, so i’ll call it a roaring success.

I thought i’d show you an ornament that Katelyn made me…a single one of these things takes about 2 hours to make. She had to wind each spike around a pencil and use a toothpick and glue to secure them. I LOVE it! This will stay out year round with the lanterns I have hanging in my apartment.

We got pretty silly tonight, using Photo Booth on my mac to take all kinds of crazy pictures with different effects of Paige and I while Katelyn laughed hysterically. There may or may not be videos, too…(and good grief, I really hope that the spots on my face below aren’t sun damage or anything. Geeeeez)

How perfectly Warholesque.

Overall, it was a fun night. Tomorrow will be a little bit of a sad day- I’ll be gettting all my stuff together to go back to Boston and my apartment, which reallllllly needs a thorough cleaning. And i’m not just saying that. But- New Year, clean apartment, right? Off to bed I go!

About annenglish

I often think my the right side of my brain dominates- I live to create things. Color is one of the things that brings me great joy and in everything that I do, it is a theme that takes on great aesthetic importance. I am a jewelry designer, metal artist and writer (wanna-be.) During the day I work in an office, and while I like it, I spend my days dreaming about the next thing I want to make. As a result, I am the post-it queen- design ideas are always strewn about my desk, waiting for me to gather them up and take them home at the end of the day. Oh, yeah. I'm also a tremendous slob, which is unfortunate because I love to cook and washing dirty dishes is my least favorite chore to tackle. I'm a healthy food enthusiast and amateur chef. Cooking is a tremendous creative outlet for me- experimentation is my hallmark...whether it's surprising color combinations or flavor combinations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Today’s Keyword: Beatdown.

  1. The peanut butter scotch brownies look incredible!

    I’m also looking forward to getting back to a structured routine!

  2. Oh, dear, mother of the earth. I must try to make those brownies gluten free.

    Those photos are hilarious!!

  3. Oh dear… those brownies look PHENOMENAL! I think I’ll make them while breaking in my new brownie pan 🙂
    Love you!

  4. Spiceaholic says:

    *THUD* Those brownies look so amazing!

  5. Kat says:

    You’d be proud of the giant goose-egg I still have on my shin from like 6 weeks ago when I WALKED INTO THE COFFEE TABLE. As if it jumped out and hoodwinked me. No, it was there, minding its own business and I walked into it. And why are you tempting me with those ooey gooey brownies when I just got rid of my baked goods? Le sigh. Might make ’em for someone else and take a couple for myself as a tip. PS – I’d waste so much time if I had Photo Booth!

  6. Casey says:

    Oh man…I want one of those brownies!! I’m a klutz too. 🙂

  7. gah, i love iphoto. it is entirely too much fun!

    and those brownies. drool. they look so good.

    and i am the biggest klutz too! my family literally calls me clara klutz. not a day goes by without me tripping, spilling or doing something stupid. klutzes 4 life 🙂

  8. Hi! I just found your blog through Dori. I love finding other Boston peeps!

    The brownies look great!

Leave a Reply

