New York State of Mind…A Pictureblog.

Yesterday was my birthday…see?

Hey! Who switched the numbers?!?

Having a birthday near Christmas kinda… well… stinks, and I usually don’t end up having the best birthdays.  My mom was determined to change that this year as she knows it’s been a particularly rough time for me lately, so she wanted to do something special.

I love Project Runway and I’ve always wanted to go to Mood fabrics (this is where they went when the show was still in New York), so mom decided that’d be the perfect place to go!  I was a good little blogger and took a ridiculous amount of photos.  I should include this disclaimer, though: as my camera is still residing with my aunt, I had to use my mom’s point and shoot, which is sorely lacking, so this is a preemptive apology that some of these would probably make Ansel Adams weep…but I think they get the point across.

We got onto the road really early, and I can't eat that early, so I grabbed one of these when I couldn't find the Pure bar I *thought* I had with me!

And it was still overcast when it stopped raining, so maybe that's why mom thought at first glance that this said, "Happy Birthday, Jenny!" Um...whoops?

Ah, yes. The indomitable Fung Wah bus. It didn't burst into flames that I could see...I guess they're getting better!

I can see the skyline! You can also tell that we are approaching because my mom slowed waaaaay down. Note the Fung Wah now in front of us. She was getting more and more nervous by the second. Poor thing!

See the Sears tower up ahead? And the gray skies cleared up, even if a few fluffy clouds were still visible! It was sunny 🙂

Look familiar??? Here it is- the moment I was waiting for- we spotted Mood in the fashion district. At this point, I got a bit giddy with the excitement. All I could think was, "Tim Gunn has walked through those doors!"

We rode up to Mood in a fancy old elevator with manual sliding doors and a man operating it! This poster greets you as you pass through the doors to...

fabric heaven...I guess Colorhungry mama was blinded by the beauty of it all...She forgot to take her sunglasses off!

I'm not sure if it was the excitement or the skimpy breakfast, but I dug these (from my Christmas stocking!) out of my bag for a little sugar pick me up when I started feeling a little lightheaded. Hey- it was my birthday! I could do what I wanted to! 😉 These little gummy lobsters were pretty darn tasty.

This board was pretty cool! It showed some of the outfits along with swatches from the actual bolt of fabric used. And yes, I am a dork, just in case that wasn't clear..

It was overwhelming seeing how much there was to choose from. And some of it was really expensive, too. The imported silks and upholstery were among my favorites.

I bought some of this beautiful silk to make a scarf...

And I got this awesome geometric fabric to make a gym/yoga/weekend bag. I'm super excited!

Yes, this is actually a picture of the cloth bag they put my purchases in. I was totally psyched because this is the very bag you always see the Project Runway designers carrying their stuff back to the workroom in. HAHA!

Threw this in to make sure you're paying attention!

We spent an exhausting 3 hours in Mood!  Then we headed out to enjoy the city- namely, we were off in search of Rockefeller and the giant tree.  We hit Times Square a bit inadvertently on our way there, though… and I have to say that while it’s pretty cool, it’s not my favorite.  Give me SoHo or the Village anyday.  But we’ll save that for our next trip.

Love this picture! We've got Wicked, Phantom, HAIR, and a giant Robert Downey Jr. Plus, you can see how packed it is as they prepare for New Years Eve! Carson, Ryan Seacrest, or Dick Clark will be standing on that stage in a few days.

Technically, this IS a food blog, so here you go- the Hershey's store! Check out the detail on this puppy!

As we got to Rockefeller, we decided to get soft pretzels from a street vendor. These have a special place in my heart because they make me think of my dad. Gotta love 'em! I had mine dipped in lots of mustard!

Giant Christmas balls! Err...there was no good way to put that.

Home of the Rockettes! I dreamed of performing here every Thanksgiving morning after seeing the kicklines in the parade...

Ever seen "30 Rock?" I half expected to see Tina Fey walking around outside!

This hangs over the entrance to the GE Building facing the tree...

And then there, in front of the GE Building, we saw it- THE TREE! There's a giant Swarovski star on top!

Then, of course, there's the rink...it's smaller than it always looks on TV. I'd seen it once before, but it surprised me once again.

These giant soldiers watch over the rink and apparently, herald the arrival of...something?

This is in front of the rink...and you might recognize it from the opening credits of "30 Rock."

Saks Fifth Avenue! See all the snowflakes adorning the building?

Mom offered to get me one of these 5-6 carat sparklers as we walked back through the jewelry district, but I thought that would be a bit over the top. Maybe for my 30th 😉

We grabbed hot dogs at Gray's Papaya with the intention of getting food at my favorite place back home. But it was late and we needed something to tide us over.

I rarely eat meat, let alone hot dogs. Maybe once or twice a year. But I have to say, this was pretty decent!

I rarely eat meat, let alone hot dogs. Maybe once or twice a year. But I have to say, this was pretty decent!

We headed back to the "garage," where our car had been hidden away and chilling about 100 feet in the air for the afternoon.

We hopped in the car and slowly made our way out of the city.  I blew a kiss for me and Fitarella as we entered the Lincoln Tunnel.  I’ll be back!  I had such a great time with my mom doing the touristy thing.  I can’t wait to go back.  Next time I’ll take her to SoHo 😉

We never did get to go to my favorite place.  Poor Colorhungry Mama got a migraine when we were halfway home and it turned out that the place was closed, anyway :(.  That’s going to be Wednesday night’s dinner. 😉

Instead, I made myself an old favorite- a Chicken Caesar wrap that I made a little healthier with red cabbage, whole wheat pita, avocado, chicken, half a serving of crumbled croutons and yogurt caesar dressing.  It was delicious.  And for dessert- an old favorite: Low Fat Coffee Frozen Yogurt- it’s absolutely decadent, I swear!

Baby cukes on the side for good measure!

I had a wonderful birthday.  Visiting the city and even the drive in and back home elicited some really powerful and great memories.  Some bittersweet, but really beautiful for the most part.  And I made some new memories, too. Thanks, mama.  Love you!

If you’ve stuck around for this entire post, thanks for reading!  I’ll leave you with one more picture.  Remember Colin?  His daddy brought him by to visit the other morning and he’s getting big!  How cute is he!?!?

I guess that’s all she wrote for now.  I have some super cool (ok, this is a dork speaking, but really- definitely super cool) stuff to show you guys in the next couple of days, including my new Smart Pen (no, seriously.  I SWEAR you are going to like this thing), a new page, yoga news and tons of recipes to be posted.  Thank you so much for following along with me these first months while I get this blog up and running.  I am so grateful for each and every one of you.

About annenglish

I often think my the right side of my brain dominates- I live to create things. Color is one of the things that brings me great joy and in everything that I do, it is a theme that takes on great aesthetic importance. I am a jewelry designer, metal artist and writer (wanna-be.) During the day I work in an office, and while I like it, I spend my days dreaming about the next thing I want to make. As a result, I am the post-it queen- design ideas are always strewn about my desk, waiting for me to gather them up and take them home at the end of the day. Oh, yeah. I'm also a tremendous slob, which is unfortunate because I love to cook and washing dirty dishes is my least favorite chore to tackle. I'm a healthy food enthusiast and amateur chef. Cooking is a tremendous creative outlet for me- experimentation is my hallmark...whether it's surprising color combinations or flavor combinations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to New York State of Mind…A Pictureblog.

  1. Mood fabrics looks unreal! I can’t believe all that fabric!!

  2. Dori says:

    Glad you had such a great birthday! I LOVE Robert Downey, Jr!

  3. Looks like a wonderful Birthday! Happy B-Day!

    I love NYC! So much fun!

  4. Christmas balls pretty much make everyone’s day a little brighter. 😉 Glad you had a great time hanging out in the city with your mom! Whooo! 😀

  5. SO FUN!! Oh the pics make me homesick!! Thank you for blowing a kiss for me 🙂
    Im so glad you had an awesome time!!!

  6. debby says:

    Happy happy Birthday!! GREAT FUN seeing all your pics of New York! I just took a little trip to San Francisco with my mom, and it included a stop at Britex Fabrics, which seems similar to Mood. I LOVE that geometric fabric you picked out!

  7. jesstyler says:

    how fun! Happy birthday! My favorite part of this post was the giant christmas balls 🙂

  8. Kat says:

    I agree with jesstyler – nice balls. 😉 If I had accompanied you on this trip, we would’ve parked our asses on a bench outside 30 Rock until Ms. Fey came along. And then I would’ve hyperventilated and barfed on her shoes. Thanks for letting us live vicariously through you! It looks like you had a blast! And I hope you like dragging the holidays out, because it’ll be a few days before I get to the P.O. 😀

  9. Dori says:

    There is a public phone in front of my building and one one side there is the Shrelock Holmes add, but it is ONLY RDJ’s face!!! That is it! No words, nothing else. I’ll try to remember to take a pic tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

