A Virtual Smorgasboard of a Post

I’ve been MIA in blogland and I apologize.  I’ve been having a rough time of it lately and my Thanksgiving was…less than ideal.  I won’t be doing a Thanksgiving recap this year.  My heart’s been battered a lot this week.  One thing I have decided for sure is that I need to learn to take care of me again- to nourish my soul the same way I am learning to best nourish my body.  I am planning to go to yoga this week, as well as go and play racquetball, a sport I used to play all the time when I was in college.  So I will keep busy and hope that somehow I will be ok.

I did have one bright spot in my life last week.  I want to introduce you to a really special little guy:

This is Colin.  He’s my brother’s best friend’s son.  Josh (my bro) and Paul have been best friends since they were five years old.  Paul is like a brother to me.  As soon I could, I rushed over to meet my “nephew.”  He’s absolutely perfect- all seven pounds and fourteen teeny tiny ounces of him.  I’ve held lots of newborn babies before and it NEVER fails to amaze me how incredible and life affirming it is to hold new life in your arms and know that their entire future lies before them.  It is really incredible.

Congratulations to Ashley and Paul!  Watching them with their son, I am so sure that they will be wonderful parents.  This little guy is very loved.

I have a bit of a headache right now, so i’m going to keep this short.  I promise I will be back in full force this week (I flatter myself to think that anyone actually misses me when I don’t post!) .  I will leave you with a couple of random things:

My “I should be so lucky and incredibly fortunate” Christmas wish list:

1. Magnetic Yoga 63 piece set

2.  Dance Roll Leggings from Lululemon – Don’t know why i love them so much, I but I do!

3.  Wear With All Zip- up Jacket from Lululemon- I love how long it is!

4. Vivo Square Bento Box- I love packing my lunch and this puppy has it all- economical, hip (it’s hip to be square you know…), and just plain cute.

5. “Much Obliged Jeeves” by P.G. Wodehouse Perhaps my love of Wodehouse will raise some eyebrows, but this guy is hysterical!

6. Complete Magnolia Bakery Cookbook– To go along with my foray into the world of baking up a storm.

7.  Spice jars for storing homemade spice blends

8.  The Office Season Five– This is the only one I don’t have!

I don’t expect to get everything or even most of what is on this list, but it sure is fun looking at some of the awesome stuff out there!  What’s on your list??

And here are some treats I’ve enjoyed in my blogland absence:

 

Mini birthday cupcake for Pauline!

These little cupcakes were from an awesome bakery called “Party Favors.”  And sadly, I saved this to eat later in the afternoon and emerged from my office with a nice smear of frosting on my face.  Classic.

 

Pumpkin loaf!!!!

I am soooo pleased to report, kids, that i actually made the above loaf.  With my own two hands.  Well, a mixer, but you understand. This is probably my first entirely successful foray into baking other than a few batches of cookies here and there.  I’m really terribly excited. Pathetic, I know.

 

Tomatoes and mozzarella with basil- one of my favorite dishes.

I am the sandwich queen! Avocado, pickle, hummus, marinated shrimp, tomato, and mozzarella on a freshly baked multigrain baguette.

This was a sandwich of such ginormous heights that I practically had to detach my jaw just to fit some of it in my mouth.  But wowza- it was worth it!

 

Quinoa pilaf with swiss chard and cranberries.

This recipe is coming soon.  It was absolutely delicious and even better as leftovers.  I have actually never cooked with Swiss Chard before- sweet success!!!

I can’t believe it’s only Monday.  Feels like it should be…let’s see…at LEAST Wednesday.   I think that this week I will try to decorate my apartment for Christmas.  I’ve lived there for four years and have never done it before, because I always had my mom’s house to go to.  This year, though, it really feels more like home and I think it’s high time I made it a festive place to be for my favorite time of the year! What do you do to get in the spririt of the season?

 

About annenglish

I often think my the right side of my brain dominates- I live to create things. Color is one of the things that brings me great joy and in everything that I do, it is a theme that takes on great aesthetic importance. I am a jewelry designer, metal artist and writer (wanna-be.) During the day I work in an office, and while I like it, I spend my days dreaming about the next thing I want to make. As a result, I am the post-it queen- design ideas are always strewn about my desk, waiting for me to gather them up and take them home at the end of the day. Oh, yeah. I'm also a tremendous slob, which is unfortunate because I love to cook and washing dirty dishes is my least favorite chore to tackle. I'm a healthy food enthusiast and amateur chef. Cooking is a tremendous creative outlet for me- experimentation is my hallmark...whether it's surprising color combinations or flavor combinations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Virtual Smorgasboard of a Post

  1. Glad you are back! Missed you!!

  2. Kat says:

    Of course we miss you when you don’t post! And it looks like all your eats jumped off the page of Gourmet magazine! Way to put my bags of frozen veggies to shame! 😉

  3. Glad you are back to posting! Sorry your holiday was less than ideal, hang in there and take care f you.

  4. Dori says:

    Ah, the infamous wish list. With my new pants and sweatshirt on it — how funny! You love the dance roll leggings because they are SO multi functional! I know me and I know I will probably end up getting the grey in addition to my black and then I will cry and complain about having no money. But. I can wear them to WORK. Leggings. To work! And with nice shoes they look like dress pants. With less nice shoes they look like leggings. And I could roll them up if I ever want to look like I am actually a dancer or cool.

    And that sweatshirt. Perfection. Plan to wear it every non work day!

    That yoga magnet set is cool, now I want that. Tomatos/mozz with basil is one of MY favorite dishes as well. Been making a basil-less version lately using goat mozzarella. Have you ever tried? I love it! And they say it is easier to digest.

    You really are the sandwich queen. I WANT THAT SANDWICH. Make it for me if we ever meet. Thanks.

  5. I’ve never decorated my apartment and I’ve lived here for five years. I bought a tiny snowman wreath this year, but it’s still in the bag, so yeah…

    Great eats!

  6. Pingback: New York State of Mind…A Pictureblog. « Color Hungry

Leave a Reply

