It’s a bird, It’s a plane, It’s…Enchiladas!

Today’s question of the day: Exactly how much weed do Seth McFarlane and the other writers of Family Guy go through writing a single episode of this show? I like Family Guy, as crass as it is (my aunts are all shuddering at the mere thought of allowing this show into their homes)- the outrageousness and irony of it is part of what makes it so funny. However, I have to say that sometimes it just goes a little too far- like the Hannah Montana android episode that alludes to the Fort Hood shooting- that was in bad taste, Seth, very poor taste. I shake my head watching this show more than a headbanger at a death metal concert.

Yesterday’s eats were quite good! I had a Stonyfield Farms yogurt for breakfast- fruit on the bottom! I have no idea why I love fruit on the bottom so much, but I think it’s the nostalgia. Typically, I add fruit to plain, but in a pinch, this is my go-to yogurt- it’s not too sweet and there is no odd aftertaste.

IMG_0993Lunch was leftovers- no pictures, but dinner…mmmmmm. It was pretty late by the time we hit Trader Joe’s so we needed something quick. I decided to do vegetarian enchiladas, with a twist! I was met with some skepticism, but when these babies came out of the oven, all doubts were erased. They were tasty, filling and the brown rice tortillas that we used were perfect- they held up really well and got extremely crispy. I was actually a little surprised at how much I enjoyed them.

IMG_1000

Of course- a treat while cooking. This wasn’t very expensive and was surprisingly tasty:

IMG_0994
Granny Smith Hard Cider- Sweet and Tangy!

I had one as a prepared the enchiladas- prep time was very quick- So easy!

Quick Vegetarian Enchiladas with Goat Cheese

1 can organic black beans

1 package (8oz) light organic cream cheese

8 oz light goat cheese

4 Veggie Burgers, defrosted (I used Dr. Praeger’s Tex Mex burgers)

Jar of Salsa (I used Trader Joe’s garlic chipotle)

1 cup shredded cheese (I used TJ’s light 3 cheese blend, but will probably use soy next time)

4 Brown Rice Tortilla’s (also from TJ’s…but any kind will work)

*Preheat oven to 425

1. In a saucepan over medium heat, melt the cream cheese and goat cheese until creamy

2. Crumble veggie burgers into mix and add black beans. Stir until burger and beans are evenly distributed, remove from heat

3. Spoon mixture into each tortilla, roll up and place in baking dish- flap side down

4. Cover generously with salsa and top with shredded cheese

IMG_0996

Like so.

5. Put in oven for approximately 8-10 minutes, remove when tortillas are lightly browned and cheese is bubbling.

Enjoy!

IMG_1004

The bf loved these- pretty sure he was skeptical when he saw what I was doing (he really should know better than to doubt my cooking skills by now! 😉 ), but they turned out great! They were also extremely filling and we each only had one, served with some sliced avocado on the side. It was the perfect accompaniment.

For dessert we went for Berry Line frozen yogurt- all natural fat free tangy frozen yogurt. As luck would have it, one of the weekly flavors was apple cinnamon, and I had to have it. My mix- ins? Granola, banana and yogurt chips. It was absolute perfection, even if the girl that gave it to me had a bit of an attitude. Oh, well. It was good, anyway!

IMG_1010

I need to turn off the hulu and head out at some point. It’s becoming a really lazy Saturday. As much as I want to just lay around all day and do nothing- probably not a good idea. Have a great Saturday, everyone!

About annenglish

I often think my the right side of my brain dominates- I live to create things. Color is one of the things that brings me great joy and in everything that I do, it is a theme that takes on great aesthetic importance. I am a jewelry designer, metal artist and writer (wanna-be.) During the day I work in an office, and while I like it, I spend my days dreaming about the next thing I want to make. As a result, I am the post-it queen- design ideas are always strewn about my desk, waiting for me to gather them up and take them home at the end of the day. Oh, yeah. I'm also a tremendous slob, which is unfortunate because I love to cook and washing dirty dishes is my least favorite chore to tackle. I'm a healthy food enthusiast and amateur chef. Cooking is a tremendous creative outlet for me- experimentation is my hallmark...whether it's surprising color combinations or flavor combinations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s a bird, It’s a plane, It’s…Enchiladas!

  1. traveleatlove says:

    Ooohh those enchiladas look sooo yummy. I have still not been to Berry Line. I have literally had a fro yo craving since the summer and have been too lazy to act on it!

  2. Love enchiladas!! Awesome recipe!

Leave a Reply

