On miso. And for the love of all that is holy, someone help me make a decision!

I’d like to start off by apologizing to the blind woman I tripped up by accident this morning.  I’m sure she won’t read this, but I feel terrible and hope that sending off some apology vibes might help.   You see, blind lady, I am really really really hard of hearing.  I didn’t hear you say “excuse me” from behind so I could clear out of the way(this is how I got hit by a wayward bicyclist last year, actually).  I am sure that it must have been a shock when your cane made contact with my flesh and you found that it was stuck in a tangle of my limbs.  Oops.  Sorry!     

Ok, now that this is out of the way, let’s get down to business.  My back is feeling MUCH better, although I still have to be really careful about how I move and lifting anything bigger than, say, a gallon of milk (and there are LOTS of things bigger than a gallon of milk. Oy.)  Last night I came home, super excited because I had gone to the Japanese market the other day and gotten liquid miso, udon noodles, tofu and bok choy.  I’ve had it in my head to make miso soup for ages now. Lo and behold- I forgot the seaweed.  Oh, well.  it was still delicious! I had it for lunch today, as well.

 

 

IMG_0838

Look! I even staged it!

IMG_0840  

The soup was super easy to make, which is what i’ve been going for lately since it’s hard for me to stand hunched over a stove for a long time.  I boiled some water, then once it was boiling I added the cabbage, udon, miso(I cannot read Japanese directions for the life of me, so I had to keep taste testing), and tofu.  I reduced the heat for about ten minutes and brought it to a boil again.  I cracked open an egg and whisked it quickly to get an “egg drop soup effect.” I topped it with soy sauce to finish.  Awesome- and even better as leftovers.  I’ll be making this again- but probably with scallions and seaweed.  

 

I had the soup with a delicious glass of POM and seltzer.  I got this delightful package from Kristin at POM and i’ve been having a great time drinking it, but tonight, i’ll be cooking with it!  

 

IMG_0828

My new "go-to" drink!

The other thing I am LOVING is the POM Pomegranate Peach Passion White Tea.  It’s incredible!!!

 

In other news, I have mentioned that I am a tremendous slob currently attempting to reform.  Well, my bedroom is spic and span and ready for painting and i’m trying to decide what color I should paint it! I’m probably going to get a new bedspread, so that really isn’t a consideration in the color, but I thought maybe i’d show you some of the key decor points in my bedroom and see what you, my savvy readers think.  And please…pardon the poor photography.  I’m still getting the hang of this!

Welcome to my inner sanctum…

This Seurat painting greets you as you walk in...And there's a Degas painting of ballerinas I neglected to capture right above it.

 

IMG_0854

Anthropologie without trying to be- this is some of the china that my grandmother left me.

IMG_0857

Allergies be damned. Handmade paper flowers in a vase adorn one corner of my room.

IMG_0858

This painting makes me really happy to look at.

IMG_0863

Domo scares away any robbers that might come my way...

 

IMG_0853

I'm so vogue, it hurts.

 

 

I also have two original pieces of artwork- a watercolor that I commissioned and an original collage/gelatin print from Jenn Mason.  She’s an incredibly talented mixed media artist who lives nearby.   These things have been waiting ages to be put up, but I just never had the time.  So, once I get this palace painted, those can finally be put up! What color should I paint my room?  I’m not afraid to be bold- have you SEEN the name of this blog? 😉

And holy moly- Apple Cranberry butter from Trader Joe’s- where have YOU been all my life?!

xoxo

Jenny

 

About annenglish

I often think my the right side of my brain dominates- I live to create things. Color is one of the things that brings me great joy and in everything that I do, it is a theme that takes on great aesthetic importance. I am a jewelry designer, metal artist and writer (wanna-be.) During the day I work in an office, and while I like it, I spend my days dreaming about the next thing I want to make. As a result, I am the post-it queen- design ideas are always strewn about my desk, waiting for me to gather them up and take them home at the end of the day. Oh, yeah. I'm also a tremendous slob, which is unfortunate because I love to cook and washing dirty dishes is my least favorite chore to tackle. I'm a healthy food enthusiast and amateur chef. Cooking is a tremendous creative outlet for me- experimentation is my hallmark...whether it's surprising color combinations or flavor combinations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to On miso. And for the love of all that is holy, someone help me make a decision!

  1. Kasha says:

    nice paper flowers!

Leave a Reply

