Halloween and…Pizza, Pizza!

Only in Boston on Halloween can you go to a church and find a man dressed as the Phantom of the Opera playing creepy music. Pretty cool, right? I wanted to go out dressed as a figure skater- i found a little velvet skating skirt the other day and I figured I could carry my ice skates around my neck. The boyfriend pointed out that this is probably not a good idea as I can still barely walk…my ice skates (specialty professional skates- I used to be a figure skater, although probably not as good as the lovely Gliding Calm) are pretty freakin’ heavy.

So, we needed to find something else to do. We ended up at Old South Church, for a creepy organ recital- it was PACKED…and some people just don’t know when to lay off the perfume(at first I thought they were burning incense in the church, actually). The mixed drink we made when we got back was just what I needed. Thanks to Kristin at POM, I have lots of POM juice to experiment with! Ginger ale, Tanqueray, a dash of club soda, and a squirt of fresh tangerine all combined to make for a lovely refresher. I love pomegranates, but had never tried POM juice before- I definitely was NOT disappointed!

49310574.OldSouthChurch

I didn't take this picture (I wish I was this good!)- but this is Old South Church!

Now, what about food? We went for some fantastic sushi at Snappy Sushi on Newbury Street! The place we went uses exclusively brown rice, which is what I always prefer to get. Alongside our usual staples, they have lots of specialty rolls- spicy chicken teriyaki is topped with truffle mayo and micro greens; boston rolls are topped with an onion and lobster mixture that I would’ve licked off the plate if I could’ve(I will admit that I do have tendency to eat with my fingers, but I have to draw the line somewhere). I didn’t get any pictures, sadly.

This post, oddly, isn’t going to be about sushi, though- I want to talk about a recipe I made the other night, but didn’t get a chance to post about until now…

Pizza!!! Those of you that follow my blog regularly know about my obsession with caramelized onions as of late…Here’s what I came up with:

Sweet and Savory White Pizza with Caramelized Onions, Sausage and Shrimp

1 Large Spanish Onion

1 tbsp Earth Balance Butter

2 tbsp Olive Oil

1tsp sugar (optional)

Fat Free Ricotta Cheese (drain for 20 minutes in a coffee filter or cheesecloth to remove water)

1 tbsp very finely chopped garlic

1 cup medium shrimp, cooked, deveined, tails off

1 cup portobello mushrooms, sliced

2 Sweet Apple Chicken sausages, finely sliced (I got mine at TJ’s- Sweet Italian Sausage would work, too)

Oregano

Whole Wheat Pizza Crust (In the interest of saving time, we got some from Whole Foods)

Preheat oven according to the pizza dough you are using

1. Melt butter and olive oil in skillet (I used cast iron) until sizzling, add chopped onion, continuing to stir and watch the onions while they brown (you need patience for this, it takes a while). You can add the sugar, but if you have started with a sweet onion, this step isn’t necessary. Just be patient and continue to stir the onions…they need to brown, but don’t let them burn. You can add a dash of water, if need be.

2. Once the onions have caramelized, add the mushrooms (you want them to soak up the flavor of the onions)and allow them to cook through.

3. In a small dish, whisk together the remaining olive oil and finely diced garlic- brush this over the dough.

4. Put your drained ricotta cheese on the dough, dollops evenly distributed works well.

5. Next, layer your caramelized onions and mushrooms mixture. Do not pour the juices on the pizza with the mixture- you don’t want this to be too heavy or crust will not get crispy and the pizza will fall apart.

6. Layer the sausage and shrimp. Sprinkle oregano on top and pop in the oven!

Note: I find that when I make pizza, If I turn off the oven when it is ready and leave the pizza in while the oven cools, the pizza is a bit crispier.

IMG_0807

This was absolutely delicious!!!

I can’t believe it’s already Sunday. I wish that things were reversed and we worked weekends and got all week off. If only… this week is a bye week for the Patriots, so it’ll just be a pretty lazy Sunday. I see a nice heating pad in my future. Oy. Happy Sunday, everyone!

About annenglish

I often think my the right side of my brain dominates- I live to create things. Color is one of the things that brings me great joy and in everything that I do, it is a theme that takes on great aesthetic importance. I am a jewelry designer, metal artist and writer (wanna-be.) During the day I work in an office, and while I like it, I spend my days dreaming about the next thing I want to make. As a result, I am the post-it queen- design ideas are always strewn about my desk, waiting for me to gather them up and take them home at the end of the day. Oh, yeah. I'm also a tremendous slob, which is unfortunate because I love to cook and washing dirty dishes is my least favorite chore to tackle. I'm a healthy food enthusiast and amateur chef. Cooking is a tremendous creative outlet for me- experimentation is my hallmark...whether it's surprising color combinations or flavor combinations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Halloween and…Pizza, Pizza!

  1. glidingcalm says:

    aww! thank you for the shout out!! 😀 that made me so happy!!!

    haha heating pads are THE BEST!

    • annenglish says:

      This is so ridiculous, but when you actually responded just now- that made ME so happy!! I’ve been a fan and loyal reader for a while 🙂 Your tofu- DELICIOUS.

  2. traveleatlove says:

    I love Snappy Sushi! Its super close to my office = great sushi lunch. The brown rice is great.

  3. Jenn says:

    nice combo of toppings. gotta try that!

    sometimes when i think i might want to make pizza later in the week, i throw together the dough and let it slowly rise in the frig. it gets nicely fermented over the next few days! makes a flavorful crust.

  4. Lele says:

    I have yet to try snappy sushi but I’ve had my eye on it since it opened cause its name is just so cute. Good to know that it’s tasty!

Leave a Reply

