The pressure to come up with a good title for this post has proved to be too much…

So you are stuck with that ludicrous title.

I always have to think for a minute before I spell “Massachusetts” and I live in the freakin’ state! That, kids, is pretty alarming. It’s no wonder I lost in the 8th grade spelling bee (and I’m totally not bitter about it. Even though they gave me a waaaaaaay harder word than they gave that annoying little chica who DID win.) Anyways, I digress. I have exciting things to share today! Numero uno: If you haven’t already, please pop over to the lovely Natalie’s website and sign up for Project Feed Me- a truly awesome cause!

Numero dos: This morning I actually woke up and made myself breakfast. Yes, yes…I know, it’s a miracle of proportions second only to the second coming of Christ (Hmmm…I hope this comment doesn’t offend anyone). I don’t blame anyone with doubts I’d pull this off(Rightfully so- I am a monster in the morning and if I didn’t need it, I’d drop an anvil on my alarm clock and go back to sleep. Actually, the thought of doing this makes me positively gleeful!), but this morning, I awoke to sweeeet victory.

I’m calling it “Quinoa Queen’s Breakfast Blend.” Yeah, I pulled that one out of my butt (How delightfully clever. Now you see why I roll my eyes at myself several times a day.). It’s pretty easy and completely delicious! The sad part (other than the ridiculous name, that is)? my camera is at my aunt’s, where I left it by accident! Tres Tragic! Hopefully, I will get it back tonight!

I mixed up some precooked organic quinoa from Trader Joe’s with a spot o’ skim milk (See how positively charming the “o’ “ is in place of “of?” Right.), a Tbsp. of this incredible all natural pb from Peanut Butter & Co. called “The Bees Knees,(there’s honey in the pb!)” and raisins (Now, if I could just get my act together and go big food shopping, I’d throw some apples in here, too!). I just microwaved it for a minute and Voila- a protein packed breakfast that was delicious. Quinoa is incredibly healthy for you- It is an excellent source of protein and a great way to start the day! People are often fazed by the cooking process, but it is well worth it! It is gluten and wheat free and incredibly versatile! I use it for everything from breakfast to stuffing peppers.

For lunch I did israeli cous cous mixed up with hummus, broccoli, green peppers, portabello mushrooms, three kinds of olives, sundried tomatoes, red onion, and beans…lots and LOTS of beans. I finished it off with just a dash- literally, of greek dressing. I’m packing this day with lots of protein! And I refuse to acknowledge any jokes on the bean thing.

In other news, today is yoga research day! I am going to find a class and hopefully get to take one before the week is out. I’m so nervous, but I’ve gotten some great comments and encouragement from so many of you that it’s really helped- thanks, everybody! I’ll let you know how it goes and hopefully not from a hospital bed after some ill fated attempt at downward dog or pretzel some other manner of bodily acrobatics. Ok, I kid. I actually was a figure skater and dancer for years and my body hasn’t COMPLETELY lost its ability to flex in odd ways. I’m hoping that bodes well.

Lastly, lest I bore the ever living crap out of you i’ll wrap this up…check out my new “Baby Steps to Body Love” page and keep an eye out for new recipes! Slowly, but surely, I’ll keep adding them.

About annenglish

I often think my the right side of my brain dominates- I live to create things. Color is one of the things that brings me great joy and in everything that I do, it is a theme that takes on great aesthetic importance. I am a jewelry designer, metal artist and writer (wanna-be.) During the day I work in an office, and while I like it, I spend my days dreaming about the next thing I want to make. As a result, I am the post-it queen- design ideas are always strewn about my desk, waiting for me to gather them up and take them home at the end of the day. Oh, yeah. I'm also a tremendous slob, which is unfortunate because I love to cook and washing dirty dishes is my least favorite chore to tackle. I'm a healthy food enthusiast and amateur chef. Cooking is a tremendous creative outlet for me- experimentation is my hallmark...whether it's surprising color combinations or flavor combinations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

