Boston Tea Party

When I was about five years old, my aunt (my mom is the oldest and this is her younger sister, who was in college when I was little)was dating a guy named “Britt.”  It wasn’t until I was about ten that I realized that his name was actually “Britt.”  The entire time they were dating- I called him “Brick.”  Oy.  Classic me.  Sometimes not being to hear things can really leave you open to a serious social faux pas!  Just a funny tidbit since my last post was so darn serious. 

 Anyway, let’s talk about stress.  I’ve been under a tremendous amount of it lately and I keep trying to get out from under it- my life sometimes feels like it’s going to swallow me whole and spit out my bones like some kind of cartoon character.  I think it goes without saying for anyone who’s seen the dark circles under my eyes lately that I have not been taking care of myself the way I should be (Which reminds me- Benefit’s “Boi-Ing!” is an industrial strength concealer that works like a charm!  I discovered it this weekend sorta by accident and it is heaven-sent!).  What I cannot reconcile is the fact that I would not neglect another person the way I neglect myself sometimes, so how can I possibly justify that?  This stops here.  

 I’ve decided to take up yoga.  Now, I always said I didn’t like it- that it was too slow and tedious.  But you know what?  I’m singing a different tune now- my life is such a roller coaster recently that I NEED that peace.  I need that time to reconnect with my body.  I think that this, combined with healthy eating habits, is the recipe for feeling better- both mentally and physically.  One baby step at a time- just being proactive helps.  Does anyone have any suggestions for a beginning yogi? 

 I’m not really one to eat much during times of stress.  I do like to drink tea, though.  I have no idea who came up with the idea that tea is a comforting thing, but they were right on.  Nothing relaxes me more than a cup of tea before bed, the hot liquid warming my insides.  My current favorite, red cherry white tea, from the Republic of Tea, not only benefits breast cancer research, it tastes fantastic!  I usually throw a little skim milk and a dash of honey in there and it is absolutely delicious (And this is directed at the FTC- No, I did not receive money or free products- although if the Republic of Tea happened to send a few things my way I wouldn’t complain.  So there you go.)  There’s just the right amount of tang from the tea itself that I think next time I will leave out the honey.  A little lemon might give it even more zing.  What kinds of tea do you drink?  My taste buds and blood pressure thank you in advance for your suggestions 😉

I’ve been having this:IMG_0665

 

In this: IMG_0723

 

Which I got when I took a road trip with my boyfriend, where I took these:

IMG_0686 IMG_0679 Can’t beat that New England Foliage! 😉

I finally got my camera ducks in a row, so to speak, so I’ll be able to post my meals and lots more pictures.  I’m working on getting my recipes up and building my content, so keep an eye out- I’m particularly excited about the Arepas page!  I’d also like to say a most heartfelt “thank you” to everyone who read and responded with such support and so many kind words to my last post.  I heard from many people who are going through or have gone through the same thing.  It’s really important that we know we aren’t alone, isn’t it?  I’ll keep sharing my struggles and hopefully, my milestones as I continue the journey to body acceptance.  As always, thanks for reading!

About annenglish

I often think my the right side of my brain dominates- I live to create things. Color is one of the things that brings me great joy and in everything that I do, it is a theme that takes on great aesthetic importance. I am a jewelry designer, metal artist and writer (wanna-be.) During the day I work in an office, and while I like it, I spend my days dreaming about the next thing I want to make. As a result, I am the post-it queen- design ideas are always strewn about my desk, waiting for me to gather them up and take them home at the end of the day. Oh, yeah. I'm also a tremendous slob, which is unfortunate because I love to cook and washing dirty dishes is my least favorite chore to tackle. I'm a healthy food enthusiast and amateur chef. Cooking is a tremendous creative outlet for me- experimentation is my hallmark...whether it's surprising color combinations or flavor combinations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Boston Tea Party

  1. Kelly says:

    I am loving a few different teas right now, all by Celestial Seasonings: True Blueberry, Gingerbread Spice, Candy Cane Lane, and Original India Spice Decaf Chai.

    I’ll have to try the one you mentioned. I love tea!

  2. Carissa says:

    Thanks so much for the nice comments on my blog! I love “meeting” fellow Boston bloggers! Good for you for taking up yoga. I have yet to try it, and need to finally just get my butt in gear and do it! You’ll have to let me know what you think of it, I could use some inspiration 😉 The pictures from your drive look beautiful – I hope you had an amazing time 🙂

  3. i’m so happy you found my blog becuase your comment lead me to yours!! i can’t wait to keep reading. i’m a fellow color-enthusiast–but you seems more artistically-acclimated– so perhaps i’ll learn a thing or two from you 🙂

Leave a Reply

