Are we defined by Baco’s?!

  The Japanese have sushi.  The Italians have pasta, lasagna, meatballs, and gelato.  The French have the most delectable pastries known to mankind.

 And us?  Well, apparently, we have Stovetop, Kraft mac and cheese, Baco’s, Fluff, and whatever the heck else is in this picture- you get the gist. One has to wonder…is THIS our contribution to the culinary world???  Passing by this store in Paris, just a stone’s throw from the Eiffel Tower, one would think so.

 

IMG_0802IMG_0803

So there you have it folks…THAT, apparently, is the Real McCoy.   They must hold us responsible for inflicting these digestive bombs on the world.  Now, I know people are going to list the myriad disgusting food items that other countries offer, but think about it- we’re represented by BACO’S?!?  I suppose the novelty of this place is supposed to be charming. Maybe an American far from home actually comes here for the so-called “comforts” of home.  Maybe European’s get a kick out of the novelty.  Or maybe they laugh at us.  Now, far be it for me to condemn a continent for the thoughts of the few, but in becoming part of the food community and having always cooked for myself and others, I’ve realized how much this country has to offer and although our cuisine is a melting pot, there are new and exciting innovations all the time.  Someone is always experimenting.  Things are always evolving.  Look at molecular gastronomy!

Lately, i’ve been eating breakfast.  And it’s made a big difference in my energy levels.  When I get my camera fixed, i’ll be able to post my meals.  Big changes are coming, so stay tuned!

About annenglish

I often think my the right side of my brain dominates- I live to create things. Color is one of the things that brings me great joy and in everything that I do, it is a theme that takes on great aesthetic importance. I am a jewelry designer, metal artist and writer (wanna-be.) During the day I work in an office, and while I like it, I spend my days dreaming about the next thing I want to make. As a result, I am the post-it queen- design ideas are always strewn about my desk, waiting for me to gather them up and take them home at the end of the day. Oh, yeah. I'm also a tremendous slob, which is unfortunate because I love to cook and washing dirty dishes is my least favorite chore to tackle. I'm a healthy food enthusiast and amateur chef. Cooking is a tremendous creative outlet for me- experimentation is my hallmark...whether it's surprising color combinations or flavor combinations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Are we defined by Baco’s?!

  1. GOD FORBID we’re defined by something fantastic like sushi… oh no, we get processedpiecesofcrapinajar.

  2. Funny post! Looking forward to more 🙂

Leave a Reply

