And then there was me.

 

A co-worker/friend at work is a painter.  Every time I bring in a piece of colorful jewelry, she has what she explains as an overwhelming urge to bite it (and sometimes she does).   Why does she do this?  She says it reminds her of candy!  While I can’t say that I am particularly inclined to gnaw on my jewelry, color is the way I express my point of view.   There is NOTHING that gives me more satisfaction than feeling that little “click” when I know I’ve got something good happening in front of me.
 

I wish I could say that my cooking exploits always turned out as successfully as most of my jewelry designing ones- but if I told you that it’d be a lie.  It’s like chemistry- sometimes the formula works and sometimes it blows up in your face.  Literally.  Do you know how many things I’ve exploded in my microwave?  Or set on fire?  Ok.  I digress.  My style of cooking probably won’t get me a coveted spot in the Iron Chef pantheon, but I’m ok with that.  I feel like I know flavors well- what works together and what doesn’t.  I think that it’s necessary to play with your food.  You have to have fun with it- that’s part of the joy of eating for me.  I love to experiment and very rarely follow a recipe for anything other than baked goods, which I rarely consume.    

 So, what about when experimentation goes awry?  It happens.  Sometimes, as in the following incident, there’s just no excuse.  I was about ten.  I was trying to make breakfast in bed for my mom and having adding a little too much salt, I decided pepper was what I needed to balance it out.  This didn’t work.  Now I had eggs with so much pepper, they were practically marbled with black specks.  That’s when I knew I needed to take serious action- like adding something sweet.  So…I added peanut butter.  To scrambled eggs. Oh, and don’t forget the veggies I added for good measure- gotta eat healthy!  Now, on Top Chef, Tom Collichio always asks, “Did you actually taste the food before serving it?” when or he has to wonder if they actually knew how bad it tasted.  Sadly, I DID taste it. My mother is a good sport. No. Make that FANTASTIC sport.  She tried to choke it down!  I give her an A+++ for her valiant effort, but even a mother’s love was no match for this vile concoction.  I’d like to use this opportunity, actually, to apologize to her for that one.  I’m really sorry, mom!  I learned a valuable lesson that day:  If it looks like your food requires an Immodium AD chaser, throw it out.  Preferably down a toilet or garbage disposal.   Immediately.


images

There are certain things that should NEVER go together- Peanut butter and banana on the other hand- ***CUE ANGELIC CHOIR***  I simply cannot say enough about how lovely this combination is.  I’d eat this every day for breakfast if I could stop hitting my snooze button repeatedly, leaving me 10 minutes to get ready in the morning.  And that leads us to the real topic of this introductory post: BREAKFAST!

Yes, I know this is supposed to be the most important meal of the day.  So why am I not consistently eating it?!  I really need to make the time- whether it’s getting up fifteen minutes earlier and just do  it.  No gimmicks- just sheer willpower.    To do this I need to have the proper supplies- Trader Joe’s instant steel cut oats, apples, peaches, instant oatmeal, hard boiled eggs, peanut butter, bananas, and arepas.  

And don’t be alarmed if you don’t know what an arepa is.  It’s basically the most versatile and marvelous food on the planet.   Everyone should know about these things, so keep an eye out for a page completely dedicated to these.  They’re quick, easy, and can be used for breakfast, lunch or dinner.  Plus- they’re healthy and that, kids, is what we’re going for here

I leave you with these beautiful images:  A London treat: Belgian waffles topped with toffee ice cream and caramel.  The English may try to feed you mashed peas, but this more than makes up for it!!! And the Borough market- any and every food lovers paradise- fresh vegetables, fresh breads, cheeses, truffles, infused olive oils, gourmet grilled sandwiches, free range meats. nuts, turkish delight, homemade sausages, pates…heaven- and it was all located under the metro!

Waffle goodnessIMG_0635IMG_0625

I’d also like to say a big “thank you” to the wonderful and talented Ms. Mara over at imadedinner.net for helping me set up this wonderful blog and for being so patient as I try to learn the ropes!

signature

About annenglish

I often think my the right side of my brain dominates- I live to create things. Color is one of the things that brings me great joy and in everything that I do, it is a theme that takes on great aesthetic importance. I am a jewelry designer, metal artist and writer (wanna-be.) During the day I work in an office, and while I like it, I spend my days dreaming about the next thing I want to make. As a result, I am the post-it queen- design ideas are always strewn about my desk, waiting for me to gather them up and take them home at the end of the day. Oh, yeah. I'm also a tremendous slob, which is unfortunate because I love to cook and washing dirty dishes is my least favorite chore to tackle. I'm a healthy food enthusiast and amateur chef. Cooking is a tremendous creative outlet for me- experimentation is my hallmark...whether it's surprising color combinations or flavor combinations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to And then there was me.

  1. OMG IM YOUR FIRST COMMENT!!!!!! I love this blog, I love YOU, and I love how far you’ve come 🙂 Looking forward to MORE 🙂

Leave a Reply

