Sometimes I get these weird urges…

First of all, before we talk about my strange urge to bake (I’m extremely dangerous with a mixer and some flour- trust me.), this needs to be said.

Dear delightful college wanna-be frat boys behind me on the commuter rail,

How endearing your obnoxious behavior is.  How proud your mothers would be if they could hear your filthy mouths and smell the remnants of the probably illegal keg from last night emanating from your sweaty and disgusting bodies.  I respect your right to co-exist with me on this train.  I even salute your tenacity as you beg on your cell phones while apparently trying to get girls to meet you at your destination.  I can’t imagine why Alyssa/Melissa? doesn’t want to bring her “F***ing hot friend from that bar last time.”  You guys seem positively charming.  I mean, you’re so considerate you’re screaming into your phones and at each other loud enough for me, the seriously hearing impaired girl to witness your adventures. Now, please, shut the hell up.  Thank you.

 Signed,

 The nice girl you have completely repulsed in front of you who used to party with the best of them back in the day but still exercised common decency

 P.S. You shouldn’t be pounding on a stranger’s seat.  You’re lucky I left my nunchucks at home. Ok, not really.  But one day somebody with nunchucks could turn around and unleash their wrath on you.  Heed this warning. 

 What is it about public transportation that brings out the worst in people?  I could write a book about this.  And living in THE college town and home of the Red Sox- oy.  I’m a proud Red Sox fan- since long before they finally won a World Series again, but I don’t feel the need to spontaneously break into a “Yankees Suck” chant on the T in the middle of Quincy in say, February.  I’m sure they appreciate the support, but frankly, guy wearing the Miami Dolphins hat, I’m sure you were just screaming to scream.  And I’m sure the teenaged boys were more than happy to oblige you, but good grief.  You looked like you were in your thirties.  You were wearing a wedding ring! 

 Ok, I had to get that out.  Especially since I am writing this post on the commuter rail and those obnoxious frat boys are stinking up the car as I write this. 

Anyway, lately, I’ve felt the urge to bake.  I keep reading about all of these fantastic recipes on websites like How Sweet it Is, Oh She Glows, Iowa Girl Eats, etc. and darnit! I want to make some magic, too!  So, I got the old brain working and here’s what it cranked out: Pumpkin pecan bites with a mascarpone maple frosting.  Completely made up in my head and possibly a complete disaster.  I’ll probably get to the store and change my mind several times about my ingredients.  What the heck works and what doesn’t??!  I need flour, eggs, sugar, pumpkin, something to make them rise….Yeah.  When I say I have NO baking skills whatsoever, I’m not kidding.   So, hedge your bets, kids.  I’ll report back on THIS particular disaster soon.  I’m heading to RI to visit my mom and stepdad.  Maybe they’ll supervise??  Stay tuned. It’ll be like a car accident- you know you shouldn’t look and be so curious, but you just can’t help it.  I promise there’ll be photographic evidence.  Good night!

About annenglish

I often think my the right side of my brain dominates- I live to create things. Color is one of the things that brings me great joy and in everything that I do, it is a theme that takes on great aesthetic importance. I am a jewelry designer, metal artist and writer (wanna-be.) During the day I work in an office, and while I like it, I spend my days dreaming about the next thing I want to make. As a result, I am the post-it queen- design ideas are always strewn about my desk, waiting for me to gather them up and take them home at the end of the day. Oh, yeah. I'm also a tremendous slob, which is unfortunate because I love to cook and washing dirty dishes is my least favorite chore to tackle. I'm a healthy food enthusiast and amateur chef. Cooking is a tremendous creative outlet for me- experimentation is my hallmark...whether it's surprising color combinations or flavor combinations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sometimes I get these weird urges…

  1. caitlin says:

    i just had major LOLs at your open letter.

Leave a Reply

